Course Title TAQA - Training Assessment & Quality Assurance - Level 3 Award in Assessing
Level: Level 3
Code B167

Overview of the Course

About the programme

The Level 3 provides a pathway for delegates to understand assessment and, if required, qualify as an assessor. Delegates who wish to achieve these units could be assessing competence or non-competence based learning, knowledge or skills. They will select the units and qualifications that meet the requirements of what they are assessing.

PTLLS Holders:-

One of the units achieved for PTLLS was the Principles of Assessment which could be credited against the mandatory TAQA unit. Delegates will need to complete a small piece of work to fill the gaps for the first unit and complete the second practical unit.

Delegates will only be required to attend one evening session to complete unit 1 of the TAQA qualification. The TAQA qualification will be at a discounted price. Professional Diploma in Education (PDE) Graduates can also get accreditation of prior achievement (APA) for the first unit of the assessor award providing they have evidence of first year modules achievement. Please contact Business Solutions at for further information. The awarding body for all TAQA courses is City & Guilds.

Who is it aimed at?

The course is aimed at anyone who wishes to become an assessor in their own vocational area or people who manage assessors and would like a more in-depth view of the roles and responsibilities of the assessment team.

Course content

There are three awards and certificate available at Level 3:-

  • The Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment is a knowledge-only award for those who are starting their journey as an assessor, or those who need to know about assessment practice but are not currently practising.
  • The Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment is for practitioners who assess the demonstration of competence in a work environment using the following assessment methods: observation/examining work products/oral questioning and discussion/use of witnesses/learning statements/Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).
  • The Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement is for practitioners who assess knowledge and/or skills in vocationally related subject areas using the following assessment methods: assessments in simulated environments/skills tests/oral and written questions/assignments/projects/case studies/RPL.
  • The Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement is for practitioners who may use all of the above-listed assessment methods based upon sound assessment principles.

Entry requirements

You would need to hold a minimum of a Level 3 qualification in whichever vocational area you wish to assess and have evidence of maintaining your occupational competence. As this is a Level 3 qualification there is also a requirement for a good level of literacy, preferably GCSE English or Level 2 Functional Skills.


City and Guilds


Start Date(s) Day Time Cost Duration Subsidised? Location
Please enquire Tuesday 17.45-20.45 £399 1 Session for 5 weeks False Bury Town Centre

More information about TAQA - Training Assessment & Quality Assurance - Level 3 Award in Assessing

Contact Us

We are here to help you.